Naming: More than just to care (Pag-ulikid and Batiti Ground Inc.)

I am not really an official part of this Batiti Ground Inc. To be honest, I’m just a tag-along guy. Their director, Jarrah Brilliantes, is a good friend of mine. It just so happens that when I arrived back here in Iloilo and meet up with her, they’re in need of help and I also need something to preoccupy myself.

For awhile, I was working in Manila. Focused on doing things that normal people focused on. But it came to the point where I have to leave. Let me just say, I came to the point where as if the society seem to be trying suck me to their mediocrity or sort of. Let me not talk about that here though. Apologies for putting too much on things that I should.

Anyway, let’s get back to Batiti Ground Inc. So let me start off how do they came about with the name.

We use names to address certain person, animal, place, things or events. I guess, on whatever stuff we’re trying to create, naming it is one of the important things that we usually do first as it should speak out or embody the whole meaning of that certain thing that we’re trying to create.

So how did they came up with the name? I know if you’re a Tagalog person, it seem to be funny or a perverted name. But to be honest, in Hiligaynon (Ilonggo language), it’s completely a different meaning.

As what Jarrah told me in one of our random conversation, it all started when she was in Boracay that was in 2012. She was talking to Olympia Resol, the educational director of their company through online. They were trying to think of a name to start their company with. Just to give you heads up, the company supposed to be like  a social entrepreneurship venture to promote economic development to young adults, college undergraduates, out of school youth in the Philippines. They’re trying to think of a name that has an Ilonggo feel of being belong.

So, the first word of choice is “Pagulikid”, which is according to University of the Philippines Visayas, means more than just to care, it means concern with a sense of looking back at the things that prompt us to care, carrying a sense of memory or affinity of a past that has meaning and significance to us.

Pretty cool name if you ask me but the downside is. There’s already an existing organization with that name. So they continue on their quest on looking for that word until Jarrah asked her dad what could be a better Ilonggo name that would mean to care. His dad told her why not go for “Batiti” as he tried to explain how Ilonggos would describe to take care of their young.

And so, that’s how they come by with the word Batiti Ground Inc. I like it. Come to think of it, the sense of the Ilonggo feel on that name that they’re trying to capture got me. I like the idea of using a deep hiligaynon word on certain things. Especially that nowadays, seems like the new generation of Ilonggos needs to be reminded of their cultural background even.. well, at least through a name.

Stuff you can continue read on:

Everyday heroes and Reechoing Projects – pinanligan.wordpress.com

Pay-It-Forward Chronicles (with SILAW Inc.) – smokebear.wordpress.com

Sky Lanterns (and some inner peace stuff) – smokebear.wordpress.com

Leave a comment